The Most Beautiful Math I Have Ever Seen

famfun_1

Click to bigify

There’s something that is just amazing about this graph.  I love it.  It’s perfectly, slightly asymmetrical.  It is deep and detailed and simply beautiful.  And my student made it which makes even more awesome.

For those of you unaware, this is a product of Sam Shah’s Families of Curves project that I shamelessly stole for my algebra II students.  This piece was created with the function:

famfun_1aThe parameter, k, varied on the interval [-7, 7] with steps of 0.25.  The window dimensions are approximately [-3.5, 3.5] in the x direction and [-120, 120] in the y direction.

I’m printing this out as a poster to hang in my room and will be giving the artist a print of their own.  I can’t wait to do this project again next year to add to what will become quite the mathematical art collection!

Tomorrow I’ll post a few of the other amazing pieces my students came up with!

5 thoughts on “The Most Beautiful Math I Have Ever Seen

    • Thanks Sam and THANK YOU for sharing your amazing activity. I had to fight a bit to get GeoGebra installed in our labs, but I think everyone sees it was worth it.

  1. Pingback: (More Of) The Most Beautiful Math I Have Ever Seen | Prime Factors

Leave a comment